Site icon Sportzaga

ILT20 2023 : What do the green, white, black, red and blue belts awarded ?

International League T20 2023 in UAE has started with much excitement and hope.

The inaugural edition of the six-team tournament will be held from January 13 to February 12, with a total of 34 matches to be played across Dubai, Abu Dhabi and Sharjah.

With the rise of T20 leagues from various countries, the UAE-based league thought a little differently and decided to introduce five belts – green, white, black, red and blue.

Through this development, players and teams who perform well in the tournament are rewarded. Here’s what these five belts mean in the context of ILT20 2023

Green belt

The belt is awarded to the player who emerges as the highest run-scorer in a tournament-wise rotation. It is based on the same pattern as the orange cap used in the IPL, where Weir receives the belt after his respective innings.

White belt

Similar to the purple cap in IPL, the white belt will be awarded to the player who takes the most wickets in the 2023 ILT20 at the end of the innings.

Black belt

The belt will be earned by the owner of the franchise who lifts the trophy from the ILD20 2023 series. The distribution will take place after the finals.

Red belt

After the finals, the most valuable player will be awarded a red belt. The MVP is usually awarded to a player based on his influence in shaping the team’s results.

Blue belt

Whoever gets the blue belt at the end of ILT20 2023 will be the top UAE player. A total of 24 players participate and the award is given to a local player to encourage them to get the much-needed exposure to quality cricket.

Exit mobile version